Registration requirements in Texas

To renew your vehicle registration, you must meet the following requirements:

  1. Your vehicle registration may be renewed 90 days before the expiration date, or up to six months after the expiration date, if you have not received a citation for expired registration. Your expiration month will not change.
  2. You must have an active e-mail account.
  3. You must carry at least the minimum amount of liability insurance required by Texas law. As part of the online registration renewal process, the TexasSure Vehicle Insurance Verification Program will automatically check to verify that you have the proper insurance. You must enter your insurance information when TexasSure cannot verify.
  4. Vehicles required to have an annual state safety inspection must do so before renewal of registration. The inspection database will automatically check to verify you have a current, passing inspection.
  5. A non-refundable processing and handling fee is assessed per vehicle registration renewal. The fee covers the cost to process registration renewal and mail the registration sticker. Online registrants will receive a $1.00 discount from the processing and handling fee.
  6. You must have a valid credit card. VISA, MasterCard, American Express or Discover cards are acceptable for online registration renewal.
  7. The total gross weight of your vehicle is 54,999 pounds or less.
  1. Transportation Code 502.146 requires an owner of a truck, trailer or semi-trailer registered with farm plates to provide their Texas Agriculture or Timber Registration Number as issued by the Texas Comptroller upon renewal of such plates. If exempt from this requirement under 502.146, renewal may only take place by mail or in person at the local county tax assessor-collector's office.
  2. There will be a two business day payment processing hold before your sticker is printed. It may take up to one week before your registration sticker is mailed.
  3. You can track the status of your registration sticker by visiting www.txdmv.gov/track.
  4. Your renewal request cannot be voided once payment is submitted.
  5. Due to implementation of the processing and handling fee, 2016 and 2017 registration renewals cannot be added to the same shopping cart.
  6. If you do not receive your registration sticker, contact your local county tax office to purchase a replacement for $6.50.
  7. For questions, please contact your local county tax office or the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Representatives at 1-888-DMV-GOTX (1-888-368-4689).

I declare under penalty of perjury that I am eligible to renew my vehicle registration online. I understand that perjury can result in a fine not to exceed $4,000 and/or confinement in jail not to exceed 1 year.